The scope of the collection encompasses the life and work of Georgia O’Keeffe, in all media and formats, including: O’Keeffe’s friends, family, and contemporaries, Modernism, regional histories related to O’Keeffe, and to a lesser degree architecture and decorative arts. The scope also includes the history of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and materials supporting the professional activities of Museum staff such as education, conservation, curatorial practice, and museum studies.
This is a list of the library's collections. Collections can be searched in the library catalog using the Advanced Search feature.
Abiquiú Library, Welcome Center
Publications available for circulation to internal patrons. This collection is held in the Welcome Center's break room and can be accessed by staff during the Welcome Center's regular operating hours.
This small collection of audiovisual equipment includes laptops, cameras, microphones and other similar technologies.
Criticism Files
A subset of vertical files that provides in-depth information about Georgia O’Keeffe’s artistic practice.
General
The bulk of the library materials are in the general collection.
O'Keeffe Family Library
Books from Georgia O'Keeffe's family library. These books were acquired as part of the Claudia O'Keeffe Papers. See special collections request guide for information about accessing this special collection. See the collection guide for information about the archive collection.
O'Keeffe Personal Library, Ghost Ranch Library
Publications from Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal library from her Ghost Ranch home. See Georgia O'Keeffe's Personal Libraries for more information.
O'Keeffe Personal Library, Abiquiú Bookroom
Publications from Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal library that came from her Abiquiú home. This collection is held off-site and requires advanced requests for use. See Georgia O'Keeffe's Personal Libraries for more information.
Reference
Key publications about Georgia O’Keeffe and the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum collections, exhibitions, and activities.
Reference, Museum Galleries
General interest texts about Georgia O’Keeffe, her life, and artistic practice accessed by public within the Museum galleries. Publications added and removed based upon gallery exhibitions and activities.
Reference, Welcome Center
Publications about Georgia O’Keeffe and her properties in Northern New Mexico. To lesser extent, publications on New Mexico history and culture. See this collection in the library catalog.
Special Collections
Rare, irreplaceable, or valuable materials in various formats that warrant special handling or care including: Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal library collection from her properties in Abiquiú and Ghost Ranch, Georgia O’Keeffe Museum exhibition catalogues and publications, books with unique inscriptions, publications sponsored by the Museum’s fellowship program.
Vertical Files
Unique articles, clippings, and ephemera related to Georgia O’Keeffe, the people she knew, and places she lived and painted, as well as people and work that was influenced by O’Keeffe (i.e. plays, music, artwork). Excludes materials related to the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum, which is collected as part of the Institutional Archives.
This is a selected list of the types of materials in the library's collections. Item types can be searched in the library catalog using the Advanced Search feature.
Oversize
Oversize books are too big to fit on the shelf and are located in the designated oversize location for each collection. These books are most often over 35cm in height.
Pamphlet
Pamphlets are too easily lost on library shelving and are instead located in hanging files in the stack drawers. Generally, these items are softbound and under 70 pages, or anything between 71-100 pages that are folded or stapled as a form of binding.
Clipping
Most often, a clipping is an article or image cut from a magazine or newspaper.
Video Recording
DVD and VHS
Electronic Resource
Resources available electronically.
Periodicals and Serials
Magazines, academic journals, and yearbooks, as well as popular journals such as the New Yorker. As of January 2017, this collection is no longer a growing collection.
