The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum is committed to the stewardship and access of the library and archive collections.
Internal patrons are individuals currently affiliated with the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum: Board of Trustees, Employees, Interns, Fellows, Volunteers, and Docents. Internal patrons are invited to:
Public patrons are considered all individuals not currently affiliated with the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum as defined above under Internal Patrons. Public patrons are invited to use the library and archive collections by advance appointment in the reading room. Appointments should be scheduled at least 5 business days in advance using the Research Appointment Request form.
The Michael S. Engl Family Foundation Library and Archive reading room located in the Research Center serves as the center of activity for the daily operations of the library. Internal users and the public can visit the reading room for reference services, access to library and archive collections, and as a quiet place in which to study and work, subject to the Reading Room Rules of Engagement.
Computers are available and can be used to search the library catalog, online collections, databases, and other digital resources. Computers are equipped to perform standard computer functions, play DVD and VHS, and basic digitization of small format print materials and film.
A photocopier is available. Requests for photocopies must be approved by staff and may be declined if materials are considered too fragile or outside the "fair use" standard. Oversized materials and those in special collections may not be photocopied.
The library and archive offers free Wi-Fi access in the reading room.
The library and archive aims to offer a variety of services in support of research for all patrons. Upon request, staff will assist with the retrieval of materials and with the use of resources. Time needed will vary depending on staff availability. Please contact the library to identify accessible routes, parking and facilities and to confirm that assistance will be available during the time of your visit.
Security staff are present at the Research Center and assist with patron, staff, and collection safety, emergency procedures, and inappropriate or illegal behaviors. The Museum’s security system includes the use of videotaping in the reading room and on the Research Center property.
The library general and reference collections are stored in open stacks and are available for browsing during appointments and Internal Patron open hours.
Archives and special collections are stored in closed stacks and remotely, and are available to all patrons by advance appointment. Patrons must request materials using the Materials Request form five business days in advance of scheduled appointment.
The library maintains and provides Internal Patron access to materials at several Museum locations such as the Welcome Center in Abiquiú. These collections are available to Internal Patrons during regular operating hours.
Collections may contain sensitive or confidential information that is protected under federal or state “right to privacy” laws. Disclosure of information pertaining to identifiable living individuals without the consent of those individuals may have legal cause for action if facts concerning an individual’s private life are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person. Patrons agree to make no records of privacy protected information if found within the collections, and agree not to publish, publicize, or disclose such information to any other party for any purpose.