Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Homepage: Home

The Michael S. Engl Family Foundation Library and Archive


The library and archive serves the public and the Museum’s internal patrons by collecting, providing access to, and preserving information about Georgia O’Keeffe and her contemporaries, related regional histories, and Modernism.

The Research Collections and Services team is available daily to answer questions, share resources, and help with your research projects. Please reach out to us through the Help Desk or email.

Exterior of the Research Center building. Research Center is a two story adobe style building with a grass lawn. Added text is layered over image:
Interior of the Research Center library. Library tables are in the center of the photograph with stacks of books in the background. Added text is layered over the image:
Inside of the Research Center library. Main focus is the library stacks full of books. Added text is layered over the image:

Chat with Us

Contact Us

505.946.1040

library@gokm.org

   Monday-Friday | 9am-4pm

COVID-19 Updates
We are providing remote assistance and online services...learn more.

   Museum Website

Library Catalog

Library & Archive Exhibitions

 

Alfred Stieglitz exhibition display in the library

 

Library & Archive News

Discover more about the Library & Archive by following the News feed!

Loading ...

New Resources & Guides

Screenshot for the Ghost Ranch guide

O'Keeffe's Ghost Ranch Home

Georgia O’Keeffe bought her first home in the remote high-desert plateau of northern New Mexico at the Ghost Ranch in 1940. She discovered the dude ranch located on 21,000 acres of spectacular landscape in 1934. In 1936, she stayed in an adobe house built by Arthur Pack, who owned and operated the ranch. After staying in the house for four years, she bought it and seven acres of surrounding land. Learn more about O'Keeffe's Ghost Ranch home in this guide.

Screenshot for MS-64 finding aid

Le Mirage, West Texas State Normal College Yearbook (MS-64)

Le Mirage, the West Texas State Normal College Yearbook, with Georgia O'Keeffe as staff and Claudia O'Keeffe as a student, 1917. The yearbook contains individual staff photographs, and individual and group student photographs. Student writings, club activities, and athletics take up the majority of the yearbook.

Screenshot for Life Picture Collection

Life Magazine Archive

Every weekly issue of LIFE for its complete run from 1936-1972 is available via our partnership with Google. You can search by keyword (make sure you select “Search All Issues” under the search box), browse by year or peruse topics at the bottom of the page. Each issue has list of linked contents and a tag cloud under the contents to make finding and reading items easier.

Alfred Stieglitz exhibition screensho

Library & Archive Past Exhibition: Alfred Stieglitz, Selections from the Library and Archive

Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) was an American photographer, writer, editor, and art impresario who was married to Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) from 1924 to 1946. This exhibition features items from the library and archive collections to highlight Stieglitz’s role in art history and his relationship with O’Keeffe. 

Screenshot for the MS.57 finding aid

Georgia O'Keeffe Foundation Photographs

This collection contains over 1100 photographs, including copy prints, contact sheets, film, and Polaroids relating to the life and work of Georgia O'Keeffe. The collection includes photography by O'Keeffe that reflects her daily life and photography interests, as well as photography of O'Keeffe and her properties, artwork, and travel.

New Books