Engl Library & Archive: Discover the Collections: Art

Works of Art in the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Collections

The heart of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s collection is the art of O’Keeffe, which comprise 140 of her oil paintings, more than 100 watercolors, and multiple casts of 3 different sculpture designs. In addition to our focus on O’Keeffe, we have acquired 20 paintings, drawings, and sculpture by other artists.

Online Tools & Databases

Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The artwork in the Collections Online, includes objects accessioned into the Museum’s fine art collection, which includes oil paintings, watercolors, sketches, and multiple casts of three different sculpture designs. Subjects range from the artist’s iconic flowers and bleached desert skulls to nudes, landscapes, cityscapes, still lifes, and abstractions, dating from 1901 to 1984. In addition to artwork by Georgia O’Keeffe, the Collections Online also includes works by other artists from the Museum’s collection including those in O’Keeffe’s circle; photographers of O’Keeffe and her surrounding landscapes; and contemporary artists illustrating a legacy of creativity in conversation with Georgia O’Keeffe’s life and work.

Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends. Includes artworks from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.

Books

Georgia O'Keeffe: catalogue raisonne by Barbara Buhler Lynes
Call Number: N6537.O39 A4 1999
ISBN: 9780300081763
Publication Date: 1999
Note from the library:
The most comprehensive record of O’Keeffe’s work by former Georgia O’Keeffe Museum curator, Barbara Buhler Lynes. Includes over 2000 of O’Keeffe’s works arranged chronologically, an extensive bibliography, chronology, and exhibition history complete with early installation photographs. A key reference.

About:
Georgia O'Keeffe's magnificent landscape paintings, flower studies, abstract art, and other works are greatly admired, yet the full range of her subjects, her working methods, and her stylistic development have never been accurately explored. This beautiful two-volume catalogue raisonné--which presents more than 2000 works by O'Keeffe in a variety of media--displays her innovative use of color and form and in the process sheds light on her distinctive contribution to American modernism. This catalogue includes O'Keeffe's paintings, drawings, watercolors, and sculpture, many of which have never been reproduced, along with entries that provide all pertinent factual information. The works are arranged chronologically and are enhanced with a full bibliography, exhibitions listing, and chronology of the artist's life.

The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Collections by Barbara Buhler Lynes
Call Number: N6537.O39 A4 2007
ISBN: 9780810909571
Publication Date: 2007
Note from the library:
Published for the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s tenth anniversary, the catalogue reproduces over 300 O’Keeffe paintings, drawings, and sculptures from the Museum’s collection, arranged by subject and chronologically within subjects. Also includes select photographs and works by other artists from the collection as well as a brief history of the Museum and collections overview.

About:
Georgia O'Keeffe is one of the great artists of the twentieth century, and one of the best loved. The Georgia O'Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico, holds the largest collection of her work, her archives, and her houses at Ghost Ranch and in Abiquiu. This lavishly illustrated volume presents a magnificent selection of O'Keeffe's paintings, drawings, and sculptures, all reproduced in faithful color. It also offers a generous portfolio of photographs--some previously unpublished--by O'Keeffe; many by Alfred Stieglitz, her husband and mentor; and others by such renowned photographers as Ansel Adams, Eliot Porter, Philippe Halsman, Yousuf Karsh, and Todd Webb. In addition, there are a number of works by American Modernist painters who painted in New Mexico--George Bellows, Thomas Hart Benton, and Edward Hopper, among others.

Gallery

Horizontal watercolor with yellow circle in upper left corner, surrounded by a larger partial circle in vibrant red. The rest of the page is filled out with red, and a stripe of dark blue along the bottom edge.

Georgia O'Keeffe. Evening Star No. VI, 1917. Watercolor on paper, 8 7/8 x 12 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.18.3]

Graphite drawing of a cross that fills most of the page rising from a landscape in the lower portion of the paper.

Georgia O'Keeffe. Untitled (Cross), 1929. Graphite on paper, 9 15/16 x 6 5/8 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.6.31]

Horizontal landscape with blue peaks in the background, black and pure ground. Along the bottom edge is a strip of green foliage and trees.

Georgia O'Keeffe. Black Mesa Landscape, New Mexico / Out Back of Marie's II, 1930. Oil on canvas, 24 1/4 x 36 1/4 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.6.15]

Vertical pastel with two pink flowers one atop the other rising upwards, with green leaves at bottom of work.

Georgia O'Keeffe. Bleeding Heart, 1932. Pastel on paper-faced gray cardboard, 15 1/8 x 10 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of Anne Windfohr Marion and Anne Windfohr Grimes. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1996.4.1]

Horizontal charcoal drawing of hanging banana flower from the top of the page. Some partially opening leaves curl upward, but mostly closed pointing down. Looks similar to an artichoke.

Georgia O'Keeffe. Banana Flower No. II, 1934. Charcoal on paper, 21 7/8 x 14 1/2 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.6.27]

Colorful painting of the Pedernal mountain in blue, centered in the upper middle of the canvas. The brown land of the foreground is covered with bushes and trees of green, yellow and red, painted with a sense of space and depth receding towards the mounta

Georgia O'Keeffe. Pedernal, 1941-1942. Oil on canvas, 20 1/8 x 30 1/4 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation and The Georgia O'Keeffe Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.5.12]