Skip to Main Content

Image Permissions & Uses

Overview of requesting and using images for publication purposes. This guide also provides additional resources for understanding copyright and fair use.

Image Use Guidelines

When using images of artworks or archival materials by Georgia O’Keeffe, images:

May not be cropped or distorted

(e.g., by rotation, inversion, change of proportion, color alteration, superimposition, animation, cartooning, removal of blemishes or inscriptions, etc) 

Must include captions 

alongside the image or in a credits page that is visible to the viewer

 

Caption Format: Works of Art

Print and online publications: use the following citation format when crediting artwork by Georgia O'Keeffe. Use quotation marks for titles of artwork when italics cannot be used.

Preferred format for citing works of art:

Artist. Title of artwork, date. Medium, dimensions (in inches) (not necessary for photographs). Controlling institution. Credit line. Copyright information. [accession number, optional for display; included for image matching]

Example:

 

Colorful painting of the Pedernal mountain in blue, centered in the upper middle of the canvas. The brown land of the foreground is covered with bushes and trees of green, yellow and red, painted with a sense of space and depth receding towards the mountain in the distance.
 
Georgia O'Keeffe. Pedernal, 1941-1942. Oil on canvas, 20 1/8 x 30 1/4 inches. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of The Burnett Foundation and The Georgia O'Keeffe Foundation. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. [1997.5.12]

 

 

Caption Format: Library & Archive

To include the Museum's library and archival materials in print and online publications, users must cite the source of the original material with a description of the item and details of location. If a specific item or range of items is referred to, include the item title description, date, and item number if known. At the minimum, include the collection name and repository name. For published materials, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum uses Chicago Manual of Style for citation.

Preferred format for citing material from the library and archives:

  • Library: Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication [pages if relevant]. Collection name. Georgia O’Keeffe Museum
  • Archive: Materials title, date. Collection name. Georgia O’Keeffe Museum.

Written material: Title, date. Collection name. Controlling institution. Credit line (if appropriate). Copyright.

Photographs: Creator. Title, date. Medium. Collection name. Controlling institution. Credit line (if appropriate). Copyright.

Examples:

 

Written material:

 

Letter from Georgia O'Keeffe to Alfred Stieglitz, 1944-10-02. Letters to Alfred Stieglitz. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Photographs:

Unknown photographer. Georgia O'Keeffe and Claudia O'Keeffe, 1972. Photographic print. Claudia O'Keeffe Papers. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Published material:

 

Gág, Wanda. The Funny Thing. New York: Coward McCann, Inc., 1929. Abiquiú Bookroom. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. 07:02-33.