Engl Library & Archive: Maria Chabot: Chabot in the Archive

Chabot in the Archive

There are two primary collections related to Maria Chabot in the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Archives: The Maria Chabot Archives (MS.6) and the Maria Chabot Papers (MS.40). Additional archival materials may be found in the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum's Archive Finding Aids Database. Please make an appointment online to visit the library and access the physical archival collections.

Maria Chabot Archive, 1940-2001, undated (MS.6)
The Maria Chabot Archive includes correspondence, photographs, and film, dating from 1940 to 2001. The bulk of the material dates from the 1940s and relates to the experiences Chabot and O'Keeffe shared during the years Chabot lived with O'Keeffe at the artist's Ghost Ranch house (1941-1944) and oversaw the renovation of the ruined adobe hacienda that O'Keeffe purchased in 1945 in the village of Abiquiú (1946-1949).
Maria Chabot Papers, 1866-2002, undated (MS.40)
The Maria Chabot Papers document the life and work of Maria Chabot. The bulk of the items were created and collected by Chabot, and date from 1933 to the 1990s. They are biographical materials, correspondence, research, writing, materials related to her friendships, and materials related to her interests and work in the American Southwest.

Selections from the Collection

Maria Chabot at Los Luceros on Horseback, undated. Maria Chabot Papers, 1866-2002, undated. Georgia O’Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot.

People and horses traveling uphill in the desert

Road to Los Luceros from Main Highway, undated. Maria Chabot Papers, 1866-2002, undated. Georgia O’Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot.

Georgia O'Keeffe seated in desert landscape

Maria Chabot. Georgia O'Keeffe, The Black Place, 1944. gelatin silver print. Maria Chabot Archive. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Three people working on construction of O'Keeffe's Abiquiu home. They are digging a ditch.

Maria Chabot. Laying Foundations for the Abiquiú House Studio, Looking East, 1946. gelatin silver print. Maria Chabot Archive. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Mailing envelope addressed to Maria Chabot

Letter from Georgia O'Keeffe to Maria Chabot, 1941-04-25

Handwritten letter from Georgia O'Keeffe

Letter from Georgia O'Keeffe to Maria Chabot, 1941-04-25

Georgia O'Keeffe looking at a rug hanging on a fence

Maria Chabot. Georgia O'Keeffe, Ghost Ranch House Yard, ca. 1944. gelatin silver print. Maria Chabot Archive. Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot. © Georgia O'Keeffe Museum

Maria Chabot at Los Luceros on Tractor, undated. Maria Chabot Papers, 1866-2002, undated. Georgia O’Keeffe Museum. Gift of Maria Chabot.