Engl Library & Archive: O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Home: Learn More

Photographs & Archive Collections

Photographs

Many photographs of the Abiquiú Home & Studio are viewable in the Collections Online. However, there are photographs in the Museum's collection which are not available online. Search the Archive Finding Aids to discover more.

Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Use the Collections Online to view artwork, personal tangible property, archival material including correspondence, ephemera and photographs, and books from Georgia O'Keeffe's personal libraries.

Georgia O'Keeffe Photographs, 1882-1974, undated (MS.37)
This collection includes photographic material relating to Georgia O'Keeffe and her properties dating from 1908 to c. 1964. In addition to photographs, there are clippings, prints, correspondence, printed material, and a watercolor and graphite drawing.
more...less...
Explore in the Collections Online: https://collections.okeeffemuseum.org/archive/collection/georgia-o-keeffe-photographs/
The Georgia O'Keeffe Foundation Copy Prints (MS.8)
With the permission of The Georgia O'Keeffe Foundation, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum had copy prints made of the Foundation's Photograph Collection in 2002. The collection consists of over 1000 photographic copy prints of Georgia O'Keeffe, her New Mexico properties, her exhibitions, and miscellaneous subjects. Original photographers include but are not limited to Ansel Adams, Alfred Stieglitz, Georgia O'Keeffe, and Todd Webb. Most of the original photographs were created or collected during O'Keeffe's lifetime.

Archive Collections

Georgia O'Keeffe Oral History Project (MS.32)
Use this guide to learn more about the collection and its contents. This collection consists of interviews with Georgia O'Keeffe's surviving relatives, colleagues, friends, and employees as well as supporting project documentation. The bulk of the materials date from 2000 to 2003 and include audiocassette recordings, typed transcripts, photographs, and research and project records.
Georgia O'Keeffe Museum. Historic Properties Department. Larsen Abiquiu Research (RG-6-2-1)
Collection includes materials relating to the history of Georgia O'Keeffe's home and studio in Abiquiu, New Mexico. Largely consists of photocopies.
more...less...
A summary of the Helen Larsen Abiquiu property research was published in the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum's magazine, O'K Magazine, in fall of 2013.
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) Records for the Georgia O'Keeffe Home and Studio (MS.42)
Architectural documentation of the Georgia O'Keeffe Home and Studio in Abiquiu, New Mexico was accomplished in June and July 1996, in accordance with the goals and standards of the Historic American Buildings Survey and the Center for Historic Architecture at the University of Houston College of Architecture. The objective of the project was to accurately measure and document the building and site.
Maria Chabot Archive, 1940-2001, undated (MS.6)
Most of the letters date from the 1940s and describe the experiences Chabot and O'Keeffe shared during the years Chabot lived with O'Keeffe at the artist's Ghost Ranch house (1941-1944) and oversaw the renovation of the ruined adobe hacienda that O'Keeffe purchased in 1945 in the village of Abiquiu (1946-1949). The Maria Chabot Archive also includes hundreds of photographs and film, primarily taken by Chabot in the 1940s.
Rio Arriba County Land Records (MS.28)
The collection consists of original documents relating to Georgia O'Keeffe's Abiquiu, New Mexico property dating from 1825 to 1897. The majority of the documents are handwritten in Spanish.

Archive Finding Aids Database This link opens in a new window
Use the Archive Finding Aids to learn about the archival collections at the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Presentations & Stories

Georgia O'Keeffe at Home
Join Carolyn Kastner, curator emerita of the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum, and discover how Georgia O’Keeffe lived and worked in the two modern homes she crafted from vernacular adobe structures. Lecture recorded January 6, 2021 as part of the Breakfast with O’Keeffe series.
O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Garden
Margaret Menache, PhD, faculty emerita at the University of New Mexico gets us excited about spring by talking about Georgia O’Keeffe’s Abiquiú garden. This lecture was recorded March 3, 2021 as part of the Breakfast with O’Keeffe series.
Cultural Landscape Study of O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Property
The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum’s Cultural Landscapes 2019 Fellow Katherine Boles gives a summary of her research into the cultural landscape of O’Keeffe’s Abiquiú property. Archival research, on-site documentation, and information from the Museum’s staff provide new insights into the physical history of the site
Challenges Facing the Preservation of Georgia O'Keeffe's Historic Home & Studio
Beginning in August 2018, the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum began a comprehensive, 18-month-long conservation assessment of O’Keeffe’s historic Home and Studio in Abiquiú, New Mexico.

Insights, the Museum Blog This link opens in a new window
Visit Stories from the O'Keeffe for more recorded webinars and blog posts

Videos

360 Journey Inside the World of Georgia O'Keeffe

Happy Finish worked in partnership with renowned London-based museum, the Tate Modern, to create a unique 360º film which transports viewers into the world of the celebrated trailblazing artist, Georgia O’Keeffe. The film was used to promote the museum’s exclusive exhibition for the artist and to fully immersive viewers not only into the work of O’Keeffe, but also into unique New Mexican landscapes.

Related Library Guides

Use these library guides for more information about related subjects

Guide to Maria Chabot
Use this guide to learn more about Maria Chabot, and Chabot's connection to Georgia O’Keeffe and the Abiquiú house.
Guide to Georgia O'Keeffe
Use this guide for an introduction to Georgia O'Keeffe. Guide includes timeline, recommended reading, and videos.
Guide to Georgia O'Keeffe's Personal Libraries
Georgia O’Keeffe had a book collection of more than 3,000 titles between her houses in Ghost Ranch and Abiquiú. Use this guide to learn more about her personal book collection and how they can be accessed.

O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Home

Photographs & Archive Collections

Presentations & Stories

Videos

360 Journey Inside the World of Georgia O'Keeffe

More Videos

Related Library Guides