from the Library and ArchiveAlfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) was an American photographer, writer, editor, and art impresario who was married to Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986) from 1924 to 1946. This exhibition features items from the library and archive collections to highlight Stieglitz’s role in art history and his relationship with O’Keeffe.
Display Case 1: Alfred Stieglitz's work as photographer, gallery owner and publisher
Display Case 2: Alfred Stieglitz and Georgia O'Keeffe
Exhibition: Alfred Stieglitz, Selections from the Library and Archive
Location: Michael S. Engl Family Foundation Library and Archive, Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
Dates: April 2014 - June 2015
Curators: Tori Duggan, Elizabeth Ehrnst
Learn more:
This case displays highlights from the Museum’s collections that demonstrate the breadth of Stieglitz’s contributions to the art world. Among the objects displayed are exhibition catalogs, journal and photographs that showcase his work as an American photographer, writer and editor. Though he was an internationally acclaimed artist, his influence reached well beyond the camera and his direct, and indirect, influence on art history and modernism is far-reaching and unquantifiable.
This case displays items from the Museum's collections to showcase different facets of Alfred Stieglitz's relationship with Georgia O'Keeffe. Stieglitz worked tirelessly to promote O’Keeffe and her work, organizing annual exhibitions of her art at his galleries. Highlights in this case include inscribed books sent from Stieglitz to O'Keeffe and a handwritten note that O'Keeffe left Stieglitz before she left for a trip to New Mexico.
Exhibition display in the library. Case 1 on the left, Case 2 on the right.
Case 1
Front row (left to right): [Photo-Secession] : [bound volume of member information ; exhibition catalogs ; announcements ; etc., 1905-1917.]; A collection of American pictorial photographs; Photo-Secession : [bound volume of member information ; exhibition catalogs ; calendar, 1905-1906].
Back row (left to right): Camera Notes: Official Organ of the Camera Club (vol. 1, 2) stacked with Camera Work advertisement.
Case 1
Front row (left to right): Camera Notes: Official Organ of the Camera Club (v. 3); Camera Notes: Official Organ of the Camera Club (vol. 1, 2) stacked with Camera Work advertisement; A collection of American pictorial photographs; Icy Night by Stieglitz.
Back row (left to right): [Photo-Secession] : [bound volume of member information ; exhibition catalogs ; announcements ; etc., 1905-1917.]; A collection of American pictorial photographs.
Case 2
Front row (left to right): Exhibition brochure for Georgia O'Keeffe Exhibition of Paintings (1919-1934), An American Place ; Georgia O'Keeffe Exhibition of Paintings (1919-1934), An American Place, Interior Gallery View ; O’Keeffe, Georgia. Untitled (New York), 1925/1932 (2006.5.102) ; O’Keeffe, Georgia. Untitled (New York), 1925/1932 (2006.5.104).
Case 2
Left to right: Untitled (New York), 1925/1932 (2006.5.104); Reflections on Death of a Porcupine and Other Essays.
Case 2
Front row (left to right): The Letters of a Post-Impressionist: Being the Familiar Correspondence of Vincent Van Gogh; Alfred Stieglitz Photographing Georgia O’Keeffe at Lake George; Note from Georgia O’Keeffe to Alfred Stieglitz; Faust: A Tragedy.
Back row (left to right): Untitled (New York), 1925/1932 (2006.5.104); O’Keeffe, Georgia. Untitled (New York), 1925/1932 (2006.5.102); Georgia O'Keeffe Exhibition of Paintings (1919-1934), An American Place, Interior Gallery View; Exhibition brochure for Georgia O'Keeffe Exhibition of Paintings (1919-1934).
