Engl Library & Archive: Art+Feminism Wikipedia Edit-a-thon: 2023 Guide

Event Details

What: A Wikipedia edit-a-thon hosted by the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum in partnership with Art+Feminism

When: Thursday, July 20, 2023, 2-4pm

Where: Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Library and Archive

About Art+Feminism

Art+Feminism is an international community that strives to close the information gap related to gender, feminism, and the arts on the internet. Art+Feminism envisions dismantling supremacist systems and creating pathways for everyone to participate in writing (and righting) history. From coffee shops and community centers to the largest museums and universities in the world, Art+Feminism leads a do-it-yourself and do-it-with-others campaign that teaches people of all gender identities and expressions to edit Wikipedia. Learn more about Art+Feminism.

Resources

Step 1: Visit the Event Dashboard.

Step 2: "Log in" or "Sign up" in the Event Dashboard.

If you already have a Wikipedia account and are currently signed in, click "Join" under "Actions" to join the program.

If you already have a Wikipedia account and have not yet signed in, click "Log in with Wikipedia" to sign in and join the program.

If you do not have a Wikipedia account, click "Sign up with Wikipedia" to create an account and join the program.

Step 3: Assign yourself an article (or articles) to edit in the Event Dashboard.

Under "My Articles", click "Assign myself an article". Enter the article title or URL for the article you have chosen to edit.

Step 4: Start editing.

Engage in talk pages, check citations, add content, etc.

List of Articles with Resources

Suggested articles with resources available in the Library and Archive:

Alfred M. Bergere House | Historic building | Stub-class

F804.S29 S759 2008 Nina Otero-Warren of Santa Fe
F804.S28 A27 1992 Old Santa Fe today
F804.S28 A27 2022 Old Santa Fe today

Alice Kagawa Parrott | Multimedia artist, 1929-2009 | Start-class

N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
https://www.craftcouncil.org/post/encountering-alice-kagawa-parrott
https://www.aaa.si.edu/collections/interviews/oral-history-interview-alice-kagawa-parrott-13248

Anita Pollitzer | Photographer and suffragist, 1894-1975 | C-class

N6537.O39 A3 1990 Lovingly, Georgia: the complete correspondence of Georgia O'Keeffe & Anita Pollitzer
TR140.S7 W49 1997 Alfred Stieglitz: a biography
N6537.O39 G73 2017 Equal under the sky: Georgia O'Keeffe and twentieth-century feminism

Caroline K. Keck | Conservator, 1908-2007 | No article

https://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/15/arts/15keck.html

Delilah Montoya | Multimedia artist, 1955- | Start-class

TR24.N6 B37 2008 Photography: New Mexico
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
https://www.jstor.org/stable/43941621

Doris Bry | Scholar, agent, and author, 1920-2014 | No article

Vertical file Bry, Doris
Criticism file Doris Bry & The Legacy of O’Keeffe
TR647.S789 Z22 A5 Alfred Stieglitz and an American place, 1929-1946

Emmi Whitehorse | Painter and printmaker, 1957- | Stub-class

N6530.N6 M87 1992 Artists of 20th-century New Mexico: the Museum of Fine Arts Collection
N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
https://crystalbridges.org/blog/native-american-heritage-emmi-whitehorse/
https://www.jstor.org/stable/i366822

Florence Miller Pierce | Multimedia artist, 1918-2007 | C-class

Vertical file Pierce, Florence
N6530.N34 R63 2004 In pursuit of perfection: the art of Agnes Martin, Maria Martinez, and Florence Pierce
N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one

Helen Hardin | Painter, 1943-1984 | Start-class

N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/arth_etds/23/
https://conservancy.umn.edu/handle/11299/156008

Helen Torr | Painter, 1886-1967 | C-class

Vertical file Torr, Helen
ND237.D67 A4 1989 Arthur Dove & Helen Torr: the Huntington years
N8354 .R63 2016 O'Keeffe, Stettheimer, Torr, Zorach : women modernists in New York
ND237.T595 A4 2003 Out of the shadows: Helen Torr, a retrospective

Jaune Quick-to-See Smith | Multimedia artist, 1940- | B-class

N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N6537.S61637 A4 2004 Jaune Quick-to-See Smith: postmodern messenger
ND237.S59825 K37 2013 Jaune Quick-to-See Smith: an American modernist
N6538 .M87 2011 New Native art criticism: manifestations
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
N6537.S61637 A4 2023 | Jaune Quick-to-See Smith: memory map

Karita Coffey | Ceramicist, 1947- | Start-class

N6538 .M87 2011 New Native art criticism: manifestations
https://www.arts.wa.gov/artist-collection/?request=record;id=4435;type=701
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAi_4rouECo

Laura Gilpin | Photographer, 1891-1979 | Start-class

Vertical file Gilpin, Laura
TR647 .G54 1986 Laura Gilpin: an enduring grace
E99.N3 G5 1994 The enduring Navaho
N6536 .D36 2002 Women artists of the West: five portraits in creativity and courage

Linda Lomahaftewa | Multimedia artist, 1947-present | Start-class

N6538 .M87 2011 New Native art criticism: manifestations
https://abstraction.iaia.edu/interviews/detail.php?interview=linda-lomahaftewa
http://art.state.gov/personnel/hopi_arizona_linda_lomahaftewa/

Lynnette Haozous | Multimedia artist, writer, and actor, 1985- | C-class

Margaret Herrera Chavez | Painter and printmaker, 1912-1992 | Stub-class

N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
NE535.N6 L67 2016 The carved line: block printmaking in New Mexico

Maria Martinez | Ceramist, 1887-1980 | C-class

N6530.N34 R63 2004 In pursuit of perfection: the art of Agnes Martin, Maria Martinez, and Florence Pierce
N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
N6536 .D36 2002 Women artists of the West: five portraits in creativity and courage

Mary Callery | Sculptor, 1903-1977 | Start-class

NB237.C36 A4 1961 Mary Callery: sculpture
NB237.C36 K45 1995 Mary Callery: the making of a woman artist in New York after World War II

Pablita Velarde | Multimedia artist, 1918-2006 | Start-class

N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one
https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/arth_etds/23/

Ray Eames | Multimedia artist and designer, 1912-1988 | Start-class

NK1412.E18 A4 2012 Eames: beautiful details
NK 1412 .E18 K57 1998 Charles and Ray Eames: designers of the twentieth century
NK1412.E18 D46 2001 An Eames primer
https://www.jstor.org/stable/23407149

Ramona Sakiestewa | Multimedia artist, 1948- | Start-class

N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
https://americanart.si.edu/exhibitions/native-women-artists/online/ramona-sakiestewa
https://www.jstor.org/stable/i366822

Rebecca Salsbury James | Multimedia artist, 1891-1968 | C-class
Vertical file James, Rebecca Salsbury

TR140.S7 B87 2019 Foursome: Alfred Stieglitz, Georgia O'Keeffe, Paul Strand, Rebecca Salsbury
N6530.N6 M87 1992 Artists of 20th-century New Mexico: the Museum of Fine Arts Collection
N6537.J322 M88 1991 Rebecca Salsbury James: a modern artist & her legacy
N6530.N6 T73 2007 The art of New Mexico: how the West is one

Tammy Garcia | Sculptor and ceramicist, 1969- | Start-class

Una Hanbury | Sculptor, 1904-1990 | Stub-class

Vertical file Hanbury, Una
N6530.N6 A54 2020 Common ground
N40.1.H225 A2 Una Hanbury

Other lists of articles to edit:

Cleanup list for Wikiproject Women Artists
Women artists articles by quality
- Stub-Class Women artists articles
  - A "Stub-Class" article is a very basic description of the topic.
- Start-Class Women artists articles
  - A "Start-Class" article is developing but still quite incomplete. It may or may not cite adequate reliable sources.
- C-Class Women artists articles
  - A "C-Class" article is substantial but is still missing important content or contains irrelevant material. The article should have some references to reliable sources, but may still have significant problems or require substantial cleanup.
WikiProject Women in Green

Libraries

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum library catalog to search for books, periodicals, special collections, and items from Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal libraries.

Free Databases

Getty Research Portal This link opens in a new window
The Portal is a free online search platform that provides access to digitized volumes on art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog offers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications, ranging from rare early publications to contemporary catalogs, contributed by dozens of international art libraries and museums.
An overview and tutorial video, which is approximately 10 minutes long, provides a brief introduction to the Portal’s background and virtual holdings, and demonstrates how to use it. https://youtu.be/9Ihsb5-XA64
Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends. Includes artworks from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Subscription Databases

Art History Research net (AHR net) This link opens in a new window
Art History Research net (AHR net) is an art history research service consisting of five related and linked databases: Arts + Architecture Profiles; Design Abstracts Retrospective; Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930; Research Sources: 2. The Poster; and, ReView.
1. Arts + Architecture Profiles contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople. 2. Design Abstracts Retrospective contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986. 3. Research Sources 1 British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s is an ongoing project to digitize every book, exhibition catalogue, pamphlet and conference paper, as well as much of the journal literature published in Britain and Ireland during the late nineteenth century and early years of the twentieth century. 4. Research Sources 2 The Poster contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster. 5. ReView contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more the 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities and social sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
The library retains the current week's issues in the Research Center Study. Online access is granted to internal patrons. Please inquire with library for login.

Art+Feminism:

Art+Feminism Quick Guides for Editing on Wikipedia

Wikipedia:

Be Bold
Best practices for editors with close associations
Conflict of Interest Guide
Contributing to Wikipedia
How to create your first article (using the Article Wizard if you wish)
How to develop articles
How to edit a page
Neutral point of view
Notability
Reliable Sources
Simplified Manual of Style
The five pillars of Wikipedia
Tutorial: Introduction to Wikipedia

Recommended Readings:

2023 Wikipedia Edit-a-thon Presentation