Georgia O’Keeffe bought her first home in the remote high-desert plateau of northern New Mexico at the Ghost Ranch in 1940. Check out this guide to learn more about her Ghost Ranch home!
More about O'Keeffe's New Mexico homes:
Spring is here and pretty soon you'll be able to see Georgia O'Keeffe's Abiquiú garden grow. Check out the Live View of Georgia O’Keeffe’s Garden to see how the garden evolves over the year. You can learn more about her garden in the library's guide to O'Keeffe's Abiquiú home.
Live View of Georgia O’Keeffe’s Garden
This live feed is being captured by a video camera installed on the roof of Georgia O’Keeffe’s home in Abiquiú, documenting the changes in the garden.
The library's guide to O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Home offers information about the house and the garden. Check out the guide to learn about the garden and the acequia.
Getting started on your own garden? Check out Seed Libraries!
Seed libraries are a great (and fun!) way to get seeds for your garden and stay involved with your local community.
Here's a list of some nearby seed libraries at public libraries:
Albuquerque and Bernalillo County Public Library
02/22/2022
Tori Duggan
Announcing! - - Guide to Georgia O'Keeffe's Artist Materials
The artist materials used by Georgia O'Keeffe offer insight into her artistic practice. Learn more in this new guide!
Still Lives by
Call Number: N8217.H66 W5 2021
ISBN: 0847870642
Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Leslie Williamson’s fourth book, Still Lives: In the Homes of Artists, Great and Unsung, features the homes and studios of fifteen renowned artists with each chapter providing “a portal into the artist’s interior worlds, physical and psychological, combined and intertwined”. From Derek Jarman’s Prospect Cottage in Dungeness, England to Joan Miró’s Sert Studio and seventeenth-century farmhouse, Son Boter, in Palma de Mallorca, Spain, Williamson aims to capture the artists’ living and working spaces.
Williamson’s images reveal not only these artists’ creative process as viewed through their studios, but also shows how they manifested their creativity in the stylish interiors and the personal touches in the spaces they called home. - Rizzoli, publisher
The chapter about Georgia O’Keeffe’s home and studio in Abiquiú, New Mexico appropriately begins with a photograph of the zaguán, a corridor that leads from the house exterior to the inner courtyard. Williamson photographs the property on an early December day, starting with the interiors of the public spaces and ending in the studio and O’Keeffe’s personal quarters. Similar to other chapters in the book, the photographs are accompanied by a brief history and overview of the property, furnishings, and the artist as well as Williamson’s personal notes on photographing the property. Most of the images show rooms and spaces viewable on the seasonal public tours.
Learn more about the O'Keeffe Home & Studio
Book an O'Keeffe Home & Studio tour
About the Author
Leslie Williamson is known for artfully photographing interiors and this is her fourth publication, which is "devoted to artists and the homes and studios they created for themselves". Williamson maintains Still Lives Portal online where she posts images and essays about her various photography projects both past and present.
Read an interview with Leslie Williamson about her book Still Lives from Elle Décor
Georgia O'Keeffe's Homes in Northern New Mexico
This guide offers a brief introduction to O'Keeffe's homes in New Mexico and a recommended reading list to learn more.
O'Keeffe's Abiquiú Home
Use this guide to learn more about O'Keeffe's Abiquiú home and garden. This guide was a collaboration between the Research Collections and Services team and Giustina Renzoni, Historic Site Manager.
05/20/2020
Liz Ehrnst
Thank you for sharing National Library Week 2020 with us! This year, we shared highlights from Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal library. Please enjoy this 4-part series revisiting those titles.
An avid reader, O’Keeffe owned several thousand books on a wide range of topics including art history and technique, health, world history, travel, dogs, gardening, and cooking. Later in life, when her eyesight became poor, she enjoyed being read to and sought out large print materials and audio books from local libraries.
Helen and Frank Schreider’s Adventure Books
Looking to get away? While you may not be traveling much these days, there’s no better time to escape with some travel literature. O’Keeffe had numerous titles in her library on world travel. Many books were about places she visited such as Peru and Spain, and others represent an interest in worlds and lives far beyond her adobe walls.
O’Keeffe owned all three books by Helen and Frank Schreider, adventurers who were known for traveling by amphibious jeep. Once residents of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the couple made their first journey in the 1950s from Alaska to Tierra del Fuego and authored their first book 20,000 Miles South: A Pan American Adventure. Working for National Geographic, they went on various assignments and expeditions around the world, writing, photographing, and filming. They produced two more books from their adventures: The Drums of Tonkin: An Adventure in Indonesia and Exploring the Amazon.
20,000 Miles South: a Pan American Adventure by
Call Number: 08:06-22
Publication Date: 1957
View in Collections Online
The Drums of Tonkin : an Adventure in Indonesia by
Call Number: 08:06-21
Publication Date: 1963
View in Collections Online
An especially unique and special resource at the Engl Library & Archive is the collection of Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal libraries. We are excited to announce the cataloging of the 3,000+ books in her collection is complete! All of the books from her personal collection can now be discovered in the library’s online catalog!
O’Keeffe kept books at both her New Mexico homes though most of her books were kept at the Abiquiú property where there was a room dedicated to the storage of her library (see above).
Many of the publications in her collection contain inscriptions, annotations, letters, or other found material, offering personal insight into her network of writers, friends, and intellectuals. The research potential with these books is immeasurable. They’ve been used to research O’Keeffe’s interests, habits, social circle, artistic practice and beyond. Her books have been exhibited in Santa Fe, New York and London.
Learn more about O'Keeffe's personal libraries
This guide offers more information about O'Keeffe's book collection and how they can be accessed.
Glimpse inside Georgia O’Keeffe’s personal library as Tori Duggan, Research Collections and Services Associate, shares some of the artist’s favorite subjects and books from her collection at her Ghost Ranch and Abiquiú homes.
Exhibition catalog feature books from the Abiquiu Bookroom.
User guide to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum's online library catalog.
Learn more about artist's books