Engl Library & Archive: Georgia O'Keeffe: Works of Art

Georgia O'Keeffe Museum Collection

The art of Georgia O’Keeffe has been well known for eight decades in this country and for many years has been attaining similar prominence abroad. More than 500 examples of her works are in over 100 public collections in Asia, Europe, and North and Central America. In addition, since her work was first exhibited in New York in 1916, it has been included in hundreds of solo and group exhibitions organized around the world.

The Georgia O’Keeffe Museum cares for a growing collection of artwork by O’Keeffe, including nearly 150 oil paintings, nearly 700 sketches, and important pastels, watercolors, and charcoals. Our collections also include O’Keeffe’s personal property, including her art materials, and a significant archive of documentation and photography of her life and times.

Numerous books and articles have been published on and about O’Keeffe’s art. The resources below are just a few suggestions to explore. More overviews of her work can be found in the recommended reading lists or learn more about specific aspects of her work in publications available from the library.

Looking for images to teach or present with? Please see the Image Search and Discovery guide.

Discover O'Keeffe's Art

Discover the Collections
Guide to searching the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum's collections including works of art, archival material, library collections and O'Keeffe's homes and personal belongings.

Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Use the Collections Online to view artwork, personal tangible property, archival material including correspondence, ephemera and photographs, and books from Georgia O'Keeffe's personal libraries.

Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Discover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends. Includes artworks from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Anyone may view and download these collections; no subscription or login required.

Georgia O'Keeffe: catalogue raisonne by Barbara Buhler Lynes
Call Number: N6537.O39 A4 1999
ISBN: 9780300081763
Publication Date: 1999
Note from the library:
The most comprehensive record of O’Keeffe’s work by former Georgia O’Keeffe Museum curator, Barbara Buhler Lynes. Includes over 2000 of O’Keeffe’s works arranged chronologically, an extensive bibliography, chronology, and exhibition history complete with early installation photographs. A key reference.

About:
Georgia O'Keeffe's magnificent landscape paintings, flower studies, abstract art, and other works are greatly admired, yet the full range of her subjects, her working methods, and her stylistic development have never been accurately explored. This beautiful two-volume catalogue raisonné--which presents more than 2000 works by O'Keeffe in a variety of media--displays her innovative use of color and form and in the process sheds light on her distinctive contribution to American modernism. This catalogue includes O'Keeffe's paintings, drawings, watercolors, and sculpture, many of which have never been reproduced, along with entries that provide all pertinent factual information. The works are arranged chronologically and are enhanced with a full bibliography, exhibitions listing, and chronology of the artist's life.