News

Thank you for following along for American Archives Month! Even though the month is almost over, we are here year round. If you are interested in conducting research in the archive at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum but do not know where to start, browsing and searching the Archive Finding Aids Database is the best place to learn about our archival holdings.

See the How-To videos below to learn more about finding aids and using the Archive Finding Aids Database to advance your interests and research.

Part I: Learn what a finding aid is, how to read one, and how to browse finding aids for our processed collections.

Part II: Learn how to search our existing finding aids, and how to browse by subjects and names.

Have questions about archives or our collections? Please contact us by sending questions to library@okeeffemuseum.org.

To celebrate American Archives Month, we are featuring content from newly processed collections from our archive. This week, we are spotlighting Georgia O’Keeffe’s manuscript, My First Trip to New York.

In this ten-page, handwritten manuscript and corresponding typed transcripts, O’Keeffe recounts her first trip to New York to study at the Art Students’ League, as well as meeting Alfred Stieglitz for the first time. Written decades after the events described, O’Keeffe recalls on first entering 291 Gallery:

When Stieglitz heard us he came out and met us with glaring eyes, his dark hair standing up on the top of his head and some piece of photo equipment in his hand. He snapped at us and asked ‘What do you want?’ We wanted to see the Rodin drawings… I looked at the drawings and thought I had never been taught to do anything like that. It seemed to be scribbles. The men began to talk to Stieglitz – He talked back so voices became louder and louder. I wasn’t impressed so I went in the smallest room and stood waiting. There was nothing to sit on so I stood very tired of scribbly drawings and loud arguments.

To learn more about this collection and its contents, view the finding aid!

Electronic Records Day is celebrated annually at the beginning of October and this year it falls on Friday, October 8, 2021. The day is designed to raise awareness among state government agencies, the general public, related professional organizations, and other stakeholders about the crucial role electronic records play in their world. It is sponsored by the Council of State Archivists (CoSA), a national nonprofit association that serves the state and territorial archives in the United States.

What are Electronic Records?

Electronic records are records commonly created (or born) in a digital format but can also be digitized physical materials. We often take electronic records for granted but most of us create them and use them daily. Think about images taken with a smart phone, spreadsheets and documents on a work or home computer, emails, or files at healthcare provider offices.

Maybe today is the day to review your digital files and think about the long-term plan for them? The Library of Congress has some tips.

In celebration of Electronic Records Day this year, CoSA developed a useful poster with information about various emerging electronic records formats. Please take a closer look at the poster on CoSA's website.

Electronic Records Day occurs during American Archives Month and National Cyber Security Awareness Month.

To celebrate American Archives Month, we are featuring content from newly processed collections from our archive. This week, it is time to talk travel!

Georgia O’Keeffe enjoyed traveling not only within the United States, but also around the world. In a newly processed collection, the Georgia O’Keeffe / Alfred Stieglitz Papers, we get a special snapshot of one trip in particular: her 1960 tour of Asia with the Donald L. Ferguson travel company. A thorough itinerary shows not only the cities visited on the tour but also planned stops within each city, while the guest list tells us something of O’Keeffe’s fellow travelers. Receipts, maps, and other ephemera flesh out a rich story of sightseeing, souvenirs, and even boxing matches.

To learn more about this collection and its contents, view the finding aid!